MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

At the meeting of the Council for the District of Dover held at the Council Offices, Whitfield on Wednesday, 12 December 2018 at 6.00 pm.

Present:

Chairman: Councillor S S Chandler

Councillors:

T J Bartlett B J Glayzer K Mills D Hannent P M Beresford K E Morris T A Bond P J Hawkins D P Murphy P M Brivio P G Heath M J Ovenden B W Butcher A S Pollitt J M Heron M J Holloway N J Collor G Rapley M D Conolly S J Jones M Rose M I Cosin P D Jull D A Sargent G Cowan L A Keen F J W Scales D G Cronk N S Kenton P Walker P S Le Chevalier M R Eddy P M Wallace R J Frost S M Le Chevalier

Director (Environment and Corporate Assets)
Director (Finance, Housing and Community)

Director of Governance

Chief Executive

Democratic Services Manager

47 <u>APOLOGIES</u>

Officers:

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors B Gardner, P I Carter, N Dixon, A Friend, B Gardner and A M Napier.

48 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest made by Members.

49 ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Chairman of the Council, Councillor S S Chandler, announced that she had met with 10 primary school children who had designed signs to discourage people from smoking at their school gates.

50 SEAT ALLOCATION AND GROUP APPOINTMENTS - SHADOW CABINET

Councillor K Mills advised that he had been elected as the leader of the Labour Group.

51 REVIEW OF ALLOCATION OF SEATS TO POLITICAL GROUPS

The Director of Governance presented the Review of Allocation of Seats to Political Groups.

It was moved by Councillor K E Morris, duly seconded and

RESOLVED: (a) That the Dover Joint Transportation Board and the 2 Overview and Scrutiny Committees be considered as Ordinary Committees for the purposes of calculating the allocation of seats for political groups.

- (b) That a Licensing Committee be appointed with 15 seats and, whilst noting the duty to ensure political proportionality does not apply to the Licensing Committee, its seats be allocated to reflect the overall proportionality of the Council.
- (c) That the Council Committees be appointed with the sizes and allocation of seats between political groups as set out below.
- (d) That the seats on the committees to give effect to the nominations of the political groups leaders be appointed as set out below.
- (e) That the allocation of seats to non-aligned members of the Council be determined as set out below.
- (f) That the appointments to the allocated seats for non-aligned members of the Council be determined as set out below.

DOVER JOINT TRANSPORTATION BOARD (7 seats)

	Conservative (4)	Labour (2)	Progressive (0)	Non-Aligned Members (1)
1	J S Back (Chairman)	P M Brivio		G Rapley
2	A Friend	D G Cronk		
3	P D Jull			
4	M J Ovenden			

The Chairman of the Dover Joint Transportation Board is appointed by the Cabinet. In addition, there are 7 KCC members, 2 KALC representatives and 3 town council representatives on the Board.

EAST KENT SERVICES COMMITTEE (2 seats)

	Conservative (2)	Labour (0)	Progressive (0)	Non-Aligned Members (0)
1	K E Morris			
2	M D Conolly			

EAST KENT SERVICES COMMITTEE NAMED SUBSTITUTES

	Conservative (2)	Labour (0)	Progressive (0)	Non-Aligned Members (0)
1	N J Collor			
2	T J Bartlett			

ELECTORAL MATTERS COMMITTEE (5 seats)

_		Conservative (3)	Labour (2)	Progressive (0)	Non-Aligned Members (0)
	1	K E Morris (Chairman)	B Gardner		
	2	S S Chandler (Vice-Chairman)	K Mills		
	3	F J W Scales			

GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE (5 seats)

	Conservative (3)	Labour (2)	Progressive (0)	Non-Aligned Members (0)
1	S M Le Chevalier (Chairman)	B Gardner		
2	M D Conolly (Vice-Chairman)	K Mills		
3	D P Murphy			

GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE (7 seats)

	Conservative (4)	Labour (2)	Progressive (0)	Non-Aligned Members (1)
1	P G Heath (Chairman)	S F Bannister		R J Frost
2	D Hannent (Vice-Chairman)	M I Cosin		
3	B W Butcher			
4	P I Carter			

JOINT STAFF CONSULTATIVE FORUM (5 seats + 5 staff member seats)

	Conservative (3)	Labour (2)	Progressive (0)	Non-Aligned Members (0)
1	M D Conolly	M I Cosin		
2	P G Heath	A S Pollitt		
3	S M Le Chevalier			

The Forum is responsible for electing its own Chairman and Vice-Chairman.

JOINT HEALTH, SAFETY & WELFARE CONSULTATIVE FORUM (5 seats + 5 staff member seats)

Conservative (3)

Labour (2)

Progressive (0)

Non-Aligned Members (0)

M D Conolly

P G Heath

S M Le Chevalier

The Forum is responsible for electing its own Chairman and Vice-Chairman.

LICENSING COMMITTEE (15 seats)

	Conservative (8)	Labour (5)	Progressive (1)	Non-Aligned Members (1)
1	B W Butcher	B Gardner	P Walker	B Glayzer
2	A Friend	S F Bannister		
3	P D Jull	P M Brivio		
4	P S Le Chevalier	D G Cronk		
5	S M Le Chevalier	A M Napier		
6	D P Murphy			
7	M J Ovenden			
8	M Rose			

The Licensing Committee is responsible for electing its own Chairman and Vice-Chairman.

PLANNING COMMITTEE (10 seats)

	Conservative (5)	Labour (4)	Progressive (1)	Non-Aligned Members (0)
1	F J W Scales (Chairman)	B Gardner (Spokesperson)	M R Eddy	
2	B W Butcher (Vice-Chairman)	D G Cronk		
3	P M Beresford	P J Hawkins		
4	T A Bond	P M Wallace		
5	M J Ovenden			

REGULATORY COMMITTEE (5 seats)

	Conservative (3)	Labour (2)	Progressive (0)	Non-Aligned Members (0)
1	B W Butcher (Chairman)	P M Brivio		
2	P S Le Chevalier (Vice-Chairman)	B Gardner		
3	D P Murphy			

SCRUTINY (COMMUNITY & REGENERATION) COMMITTEE (10 seats)

	Conservative (5)	Labour (3)	Progressive (1)	Non-Aligned Members (1)
1	T A Bond (Spokesperson)	L A Keen (Chairman)	P Walker	R J Frost
2	M J Ovenden (Deputy Spokesperson)	G Cowan (Vice-Chairman)		
3	P I Carter	P M Brivio		
4	N Dixon			
5	P D Jull			

SCRUTINY (POLICY & PERFORMANCE) COMMITTEE (10 seats)

	Conservative (4)	Labour (4)	Progressive (1)	Non-Aligned Members (1)
1	T A Bond (Spokesperson)	M I Cosin (Chairman)	M R Eddy	R J Frost
2	M J Ovenden (Deputy Spokesperson)	P J Hawkins (Vice-Chairman)		
3	P D Jull	D A Sargent		
4	M Rose	J M Heron		

52 <u>URGENT BUSINESS TIME</u>

There were no items of urgent business for consideration.

The meeting ended at 6.12 pm